Bimet/Illinois River Bridge

Bimet Electrical Research Company is another home-grown Morris business once located on east Route 6 where the Illinois Drivers facility is now. This model was made in 1983 by a former employee, Jeff Podlesak. Bimet was started in 1954 by Fred Patti. They made thermostats for small appliances like toasters, waffle irons, and coffee makers, then sold them to companies like Toastmaster and Hamilton Beach. The business closed in 2002.

Below this are commemorate items celebrating the Illinois River Bridge. The bridge is important because it ties Grundy County together—in spite of the traditional culture of “north of the river and south of the river.” There have been 4 bridges—the first bridge was wood, built in 1855, followed by a metal one 45 years later, then the iconic arch bridge opened with the Deep Waterway in 1934, and finally the current bridge opened in 2001. 

%d bloggers like this: